HALLOUMI WRAPS

To sum up what have been going on so far this week – exam studying. That is basically it. I feel like this most boring person on earth right now. I wake up and put on sweatpants and Marcus old HV71 sweater from -95 and then I make a cup of coffee, gather up my notes and books to sit down and study. Then, 8 hours later I´m still at the same spot trying to remember the stages of moral development or the functions of intermediaries. Yeah, thats the not-so-exciting life of me. So tell me, what amazing and fun things have you been up to so I can pretend my life is a bit more fun, haha.

halloumi wraps

This week we’re celebrating ‘National Vegetarian Week’ with this recipe for halloumi wraps with caramelized onion and mushrooms. I try to eat vegetarian a couple of times every week and I try to make it to #meatlessmonday every week. I find it to be a fun challenge to cook tasty, satisfying and healthy recipes not using meat and usually it ends up with something pretty great in the end. I get the feeling that the times when vegetarian food equaled a boring salad or pasta with veggies is long gone. It´s some proper tasty options out there. Do you eat vegetarian food and what is your favorite dish? For me, its basically anything including halloumi or bean burgers, oh yum!

halloumi wraps

Ingrediens
1 large yellow onion
300 g button mushrooms
1 tbs smoked paprika powder
1 tbs honey
6 tortilla wraps (medium-sized)
400 g halloumi cheese
Handful of baby spinach

halloumi wraps

Do this;
Finely slice the onion and button mushrooms. Heat up some oil or butter in a pan on medium-high heat, add in the onion and cook until they caramelize. Place the cooked onion in a bowl and repeat with the mushrooms. When the mushrooms are cooked and golden, put the onion back in and add the smoked paprika and honey. Cook 10 min before seasoning with salt and pepper.

Slice the halloumi in 5 mm thick slices. In a pan on high heat give them some color, it literally takes 1-2 min on each side. Then take them out and clean the pan with some paper. Lower the heat to a low heat.

Gently heat up the tortilla wraps on both sides – add some mushrooms and onion in the middle, followed by some baby spinach and slices of the halloumi. Fold in the sides and roll them up to a tight roll. Put the bottom part of the burrito back into the pan for a couple of seconds to secure it. Repat with all the tortillas before cutting them in half and serving.

halloumi wraps

7 Comments Add yours

  1. sarahpratley says:

    This looks amazing and I love your photos! Good luck with the exams 🙂 x

    https://sarahpratley.com

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  2. Linda says:

    Looks so tasty!! I love a good wrap! Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday 🙂
    Linda~
    Fabulous Fare Sisters

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jhuls says:

    I don’t think I have tried halloumi cheese before, though I always see them with the other cheeses. These look so good and it feels like I need to try the such cheese soon. 😀

    Like

    1. Oh you must! I wake up some mornings thinking about halloumi, haha. The key is to get some colour on them without cooking them for too long though, otherwise they get a bit rubbery… 🙂

      Like

      1. Jhuls says:

        I wonder – is the texture something like mozzarella?

        Like

      2. I would say it’s a lot firmer, more like let’s say a cheddar but it doesn’t melt 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

