GREEN PEA FRITTERS w/LEMON TAHINI DRESSING

I have had the clumsiest week in history. It all began with that headstand. I have just learned how to make them without a wall, so I was upside down trying to stay that way. Then I sneezed. Suddenly I was laying on the floor, face down and a nose that hurtThen it was just downhill from that – I have slipped and hit my bum, I hit my knee in a stair, dropped a plate in my own forehead just to mention a few mishaps. However, despite all the bruises that cover most of my body it have been a great week. I have seen my nephew graduate, had the most amazing brunch with my best friend and celebrated Swedens national day.

GREEN PEA PATTIES w/LEMON TAHINI DRESSING

These fritters was on my lunch plate in the beginning of the week. I’ve been eating loads more vegetarian lately, I enjoy the feeling it gives to my body. It feels like it packs my body full of nutrients and it also feels like I avoid the ‘food-coma’ that comes after a heavy meat-based meal. Even though I probably can’t live without a decent steak its good to balance it out with some more veggies every now and then. Do these in bulk and freeze them and then you have the easiest lunch/dinner ever just laying there, waiting for you to get hungry!

GREEN PEA PATTIES w/LEMON TAHINI DRESSING

Ingredients;
Green Pea Patties

600 g frozen peas (defrosted) 
1 bunch basil 
1 yellow onion
1 clove of garlic
0,5 cup corn starch 
Salt and pepper

Do this;
Cut the onion in quarters and pulse together with the garlic in a food processor until they become finely chopped. Add in the basil and peas and mix until it becomes a smooth paste. Add salt and pepper to your preference before mixing in the corn starch. 

Form small patties with slightly wet hands and fry in a pan on medium heat until they get a golden color. Be careful when flipping them since the ‘uncooked’ side can be a bit delicate. Serve with the dressing. 

I served mine with a nectarine salsa, some asparagus, rocket salad and hulled barley. 

GREEN PEA PATTIES w/LEMON TAHINI DRESSING

Lemon tahini dressing
1 tbs tahini
2 tbs lemon juice
2 tbs avocado oil (or olive oil) 
0,5 tsp cayenne pepper 
Salt and pepper 


Mix all ingredients together, season with salt and pepper. 

GREEN PEA PATTIES w/LEMON TAHINI DRESSING

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Petra ! sorry but I was chuckling ! What happened this week? You were really in the wars! Hope things improve on the ‘self destruction’ side of things and that all your bumps and bruises heal …..wow !
    I love these pea fritters…I too, seem to be thoroughly enjoying eating more the vegetarian way (as you may have noticed) I did have a good steak the other day though, but then loaded it with veggies (lol) Anyway, I am so keen to try these fritters, they look so vibrant and happy 🙂 Have a great weekend and week ahead 🙂 x

    Like

    1. Haha, its okay. After a bit of crying I was laughing at myself also ^^ I wore white jeans yesterday and my bruise on my bum was showing through, haha. Next week I think I need to wrap myself in bubble-wrap 😉
      I have noticed, and I think I see that we are not the only ones (despite I have a steak in the frige as well, haha), but it feels so fresh on the body and its a fun challenge to cook with veggies!
      Hope you had an amazing weekend so far and that the upcoming week will be amazing as well, your comments really made my day every time! xx

      Like

  2. What a disastrous time😯 pea fritters look delicious…often eat these but not had with a lemon tahini dressing- far more interesting than the cucumber raita I normally serve then with. Will try this next time I make a batch. Thank you for some inspiration 😀

    Like

    1. Oh, thank you for the inspiration also, tomorrow I will defrost some and try it wit ha raita! Sounds delicious!

      Like

Leave a Reply

