SALAD w/ ROASTED PLUMS & SAVORY GRANOLA

SALAD w/ ROASTED PLUMS and SAVORY GRANOLA

I’m so incredible fortuned to having the upbringing I’ve had. Not only having an amazing family but also growing up far on the countryside far away from pollution, concrete and city-life. Sure, I hated it to bits as a teenager stuck on an island with a ferry that sometimes got canceled because of wind. But today I’m so grateful. I’ve grown up running around barefoot until the soles of my feet where chronically dirty, loads of homegrown veggies, pitch dark starry nights and a family that value clean, natural foods. The closest thing we had to takeout growing up was the local pizzeria that makes everything from scratch and that only is open during the summer-months. I only wish I can give my future children the same experience.

The clean, natural eating is something that have followed me into adulthood. I truly believe in balance – I especially love desserts, its pure luxury but I also love nutritious food that fuel my body. Having one doesn’t rule out the other. To me the word “healthy” has a bad feeling, even though I use it frequently here on the blog. It sounds so boring, so dry and something you force yourself to eat. To be honest, it’s just food. Good food. Tasty food.

SALAD w/ ROASTED PLUMS and SAVORY GRANOLASALAD w/ ROASTED PLUMS and SAVORY GRANOLA

This salad is just that. Pretty darn tasty food. And it just happens to be good for you. The plums is perfectly in season here right now, they are so sweet and juicy. Roast them to get even more sweetness out of them, combine them with crunchy salad, soft mozzarella and a salty, spicy savory granola. Oh gosh.

Ingredients
40 g oats
1 tsp chili flakes
2 tbs fresh thyme, finely chopped
1 tbs dried tarragon
1 tbs sesame seeds
2 tbs olive oil
6 plums
2 spring onions
1 bulb mozzarella
Salad

Sallad w/ roasted plums & savory granola
Granola – Preheat the oven to 200 degrees. Mix the oats, chili flakes, thyme, tarragon, sesame seeds and olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Pour the mixture over a baking tray lined with baking paper and toast in the oven until golden and fragrant. Allow to cool down.

Salad – Roast the plums in a grill pan until golden, cut the salad into small pieces and slice the spring onions. Layer it onto a serving dish, tear the mozzarella into smaller pieces and scatter them on the plane, put them plums on top and sprinkle over the granola.

SALAD w/ ROASTED PLUMS and SAVORY GRANOLASALAD w/ ROASTED PLUMS and SAVORY GRANOLA

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Love the sweet and sour vive going on here. Nice photos as well (:

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This salad sounds lovely and nothing like I have ever tasted before. Looking forward to making this 🙂 What a nice twist with the savory granola 🙂

    Like

    1. The granola turned out really well, even though I had some sceptic people tasting it 😉 And it smells like popcorn! :O

      Like

    2. The granola turned out really well, even though I had some sceptic people tasting it 😉 And it smells like popcorn!

      Like

  3. Loretta says:

    Thank you so much for bringing this salad with roasted plums and savory granola to Fiesta Friday. I’d never have thought of roasting plums, but thanks for the tip, especially as it enhances its natural sweetness. It is chock full of fresh and flavorful. Your images make me want to grab a bowl and savor its deliciousness before the warmer weather bids us an adieu.

    Like

    1. Aw. Thank you so much! I’m head over in love with roasted plums. Sometimes I just roast them and eat them with greek yoghurt as my breakfast. So yummy!

      Like

  4. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

