HEARTY CHICKEN AND PASTA SOUP

HEARTY CHICKEN AND PASTA SOUP

Every time fall knocks on the door I get the sudden urge to bundle up in my sofa with layers and layers of blankets, tea and popcorn to watch series. I barely touched my Netflix account in the summertime but the last couple of days I’ve been binge watching pretty much everything. I finished The Night Manager, the X-files in an ongoing project (its so many seasons!), I have a pause from Downtown Abbey so they understand I’m not incredible happy with them killing all my favorite people and I’ve just started watching Blacklist (I love it so far!). Do you have any good recommendations for series I need to watch? I need to extend my list so I don’t run out of good things to watch by December.

Speaking of autumn. Soup’s. I´m so pleased to finally being able to eat soups again without sweating to death. I love how humble a soup is, yet it’s such a great carrier for all things lovely. I would say that this is a humble soup – with chicken, veggies and pasta. One of those that gets you heated up right into your bones, it’s like woolen socks for your inside. The chicken is tender, the tomato base is sweet and the pasta keeps you full all day – perfect to cure autumn chilliness.

dsc_0057

dsc_0054r

Ingredients;
1 yellow onion
2 garlic cloves
2 carrots
0,5 large zucchini (or 1 small)

1 tbp dill-seeds (or fennel-seeds)
1 tbp celery salt
1 bay leaf
800 ml chicken stock
3 chicken breasts
2 tbs tomato paste
1 can cherry tomatoes
150 g pasta of choice
Thyme

Hearty chicken soup
Finely dice the yellow onion and garlic. Peel and cut the carrots, slice them and the zucchini into 1 cm slices. Start to soft the veggies with a shot of oil on medium heat. Add in the tomato paste, dill-seeds and celery salt and fry for an additional minute. Pour in the chicken stock and cherry tomatoes  and add in the bay leaf before putting the chicken breast whole into the soup.

Simmer the soup for at least 15 minutes (but preferably for up to an hour), season with salt and pepper. Add in the pasta to cook al dente (around 10 minutes), whilst the pasta is cooking take out the chicken and shred it into bite sized pieces before decorating the soup with thyme. Serve with rye-bread on the side.

dsc_0052r

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. I wanted to dive right into my computer for your soup – how divine Petra !!! We didn’t have much of a winter here this year, so really missed out on good old hearty soups.
    Blacklist is amazing, I am waiting for the next season to begin. I am not sure if you have a program called Blindspot, you may enjoy that too… We have quite a few here which I enjoy, but generally we are behind in programs here in South Africa.
    Have a great week 🙂

    Like

    1. Aw, thank you Lynne! 🙂
      Autumn came over night here, you know that day when you wake up and the floor is cold on your feet? This was Thursday for me and I haven’t really gotten warm yet.
      Oh, Then I know I have some good times ahead, and I googled Blindspot and it went straight up on my ‘to-watch’ list, it sounds really good!
      Have an nice weekend 🙂

      Like

  2. Antonia says:

    I am the same way about fall 😀 Lovely soup!

    Like

    1. Good to know I’m not the only one enjoying it 🙂 Have a great weekend!

      Like

      1. Antonia says:

        Thank you for sharing this delicious and hearty soup with us at Fiesta Friday!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love pasta in soups. This looks wonderful!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much darling!

      Like

    1. Thank you so much Julie!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It is getting to be soup season again and th is sounds wonderful. Thanks for sharing with us at Throwback Thursday. Pinned and shared!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

