APPLE HARVEST CAKE w/ CARDAMOM AND LEMON

APPLE HARVEST CAKE w/ CARDAMOM AND LEMON

Oh well Hello there! It really feels like its been ages since I sat down to write a new recipe. You can probably guess what’s been keeping me away from my computer. Exams. The past few weeks have been the dreaded pre-exam weeks where I go into zombie-mode in my PJ-bottoms just flipping pages after pages. I finished the last one of my exams yesterday – I wrote 7 full a4 pages in two hours and woke up witch aching muscles in my arm and hand. Turns out writing a Strategy-exam is equivalent to a gym session!

APPLE HARVEST CAKE w/ CARDAMOM AND LEMONAPPLE HARVEST CAKE w/ CARDAMOM AND LEMON

So, the new recipe today is a real autumnal one. HarvestΒ apple-cake with the addition of lemon and cardamom. The apples right now is just to die for, so crisp and full of flavor and just perfect for cooking and baking. And thoseΒ in combination with a lemony soft sponge with just a hint of cardamom and a side serving of vanilla ice-cream. Heaven!

Ingredients

Cake
180 g butter
200 g sugar
1 tsp vanilla sugar
1 lemon, zest
1,5 tsp ground cardamom
3 eggs
225 g flour
1 tsp baking powder
3 tbs milk

Topping
3 apples
4 tbs cinnamon
4 tbs sugar

Apple Harvest Cake
Preheat the oven to 175 degrees. Grease a loose-bottom tin with butter (around 24 cm in diameter) and add a baking paper in the bottom to sto the cake from sticking.
Cake
Melt the butter and allow to cool down then add in the sugar, vanilla sugar, lemon zest and ground cardamom. Add in one egg at the time, stirring in between. Sift the flour together with the baking powder in the bowl and stir gently to combine. Pour the batter into the baking tin.
Topping
On a plate, combine the cinnamon and the sugar. Cut the apples into thin slices and give them a gentle toss in the cinnamon-sugar before arranging them closely on top of the batter.

Bake in the lower half of the oven for 30-35 min or when a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool down slightly or completely before serving.

APPLE HARVEST CAKE w/ CARDAMOM AND LEMON

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a beautiful cake!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a great looking cakes. Love the cardamom and lemon in it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Archana says:

    wow! Such a diff idea to use cardamom!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is one beautiful cake! Love how you have added the cardamom.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Cardamom just screams autumn to me, its such a warming flavor πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This looks delicious…gorgeous combination of flavours πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, so sweet of you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Petra, hope your exams went well. I have to say your apple harvest cake looks divine, and I bet taste delicious!!!! You really are creative πŸ™‚ Have a lovely weekend πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you. I really hope so too but IΒ΄m confident I gave it my best at least! πŸ™‚
      I especially loved the lemon in the cake, gave it such a fresh twist! Hope you have an amazing weekend too! πŸ˜€

      Like

  7. This is amazing and perfect for fall. I use cardamom in everyday cooking for love that your have used that. Divine!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I also really love to use cardamom, I love to put it in my coffee in the morning, such an lovely treat to start the morning with πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. sarahgiebens says:

    This is one beautiful and delicious cake! Saved it for later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Let me know how it turned out if you decide to make it πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. sarahgiebens says:

        I definitely will πŸ˜€

        Liked by 2 people

  9. I will never get tired of all the apple desserts so many like you are making. Looks like a winner πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, it really was appreciated in my family πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. I think I’m a little bit in love with this cake! Thanks for sharing with us this week at Throwback Thursday!

    Mollie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw! Thank you so much! So glad you liked it πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. Ohh this looks beautiful!! πŸ™‚ you’ve got a fabulous blog here! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! You really made me so happy with this comment! So glad you decided to follow me πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  12. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

