SAFFRON THUMBPRINT COOKIES

SAFFRON THUMBPRINT COOKIESSAFFRON THUMBPRINT COOKIES

In the middle of the craziest weeks of the year I think I’ve managed to attract the flu. I woke up with angry throat and when I walked up the stairs to the third floor to my statistics-lab my heart was beating like I had run a marathon. Not good at all. So right now I’m aiming towards an sky-high intake of vitamin-C, ginger and honey to make it go away before the exams. Also, I’m baking loads – because we all know baking is proven to make you feel a lot better.

SAFFRON THUMBPRINT COOKIES

These wonderful little cookies is a christmasifyed version of a traditional Swedish cookie called Hallongrottor (or “raspberry-caves”). The cookie itself are perfectly crumbly and buttery, similar to shortbread, and the middle is equipped with a sweet and sticky jam. The flavor combinations of these are just great. To me, figs and saffron are just the epitome of Christmas. Sweet, fruity and super-luxurious.

Ingredients 
200 g room tempered butter
75 g sugar
0.5 g saffron
pinch of salt
1 1/2 tsp vanilla sugar
1 tsp baking powder
180 g flour
+ fig jam/marmelade

SAFFRON THUMBPRINT COOKIES

Saffron thumbprint cookies
Preheat the oven to 200 degrees and place mini cupcake-tins on a baking paper-covered tray.

With a electric mixer beat the sugar, butter and saffron until creamy. Add the baking powder, salt and the vanilla sugar. Give it another mix until everything is combined. Lastly, sift in the flour and work together into a dough. This is easiest using the same mixer – first it will form a sand-texture and then become more and more like a moldable dough. 

Form small balls and place them into the tins. They should be just over half-filled. Make a dent in each dough-ball and fill with a small amount of fig jam (half a teaspoon). Bake in the middle of the oven for 12-14 min. You know when they are done when they have “settled” and gotten golden brown on top. Allow to cool down before serving.

Store in a airtight container in room-temperature for up to a week. 

SAFFRON THUMBPRINT COOKIES

Haha, also. I take some of my photos with a setting on my camera that takes a photograph every 45 seconds for as long as I want to get those “me-baking shots”. This time I looked through the photos and found this one. I guess someone was a bit curious of the sound from the camera. 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: Friday Five!
  2. BeaFreitas says:

    Look delicious !

    Like

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    Such pretty treats to serve to family and friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the idea of the saffron thumbprint cookies, so different and the flavoring must be superb. Crumbles looks so gorgeous, and so curious 🙂 Hugs for Crumbles 🙂

    Like

    1. Aw thank you, you’re comments always make me smile! Crumbles says hi! 🙂 xx

      Like

  5. I love the sound of these little treats. Love your curious cat too! Hope that you feel better soon.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

