HEALTHY BANANA BREAD GRANOLA

January is a stressful month – from nowhere you are supposed to go back to normal after the holidays, the amazing indulgent food and all netflix-movies. Its also that time of the year when people go crazy over salads, workouts and all insane diets that are out there.

I start 2016 doing what I’ve always been doing – eating food that makes me feel great, both my tummy and my mind. And to be honest, nothing makes me feel as great as food.

This approach comes with a bit of unintentional healthy eating, because how great do you feel eating fast food every day? Not that amazing, huh? A cheeky hamburger every now and then makes me weak at my knees (like this weekends visit to BadaBing Burgers, wow!), but mostly I feel better with good, unprocessed produce with big flavors – like this banana bread granola, it ticks all the boxes; no oil, no sugar and it’s packed with fiber that keeps me full all day (and therefore not grumpy).

DSC_0144

You want to have this at home;
2 really ripe organic bananas (like somewhere in between a banana and compost)
1 cup oats
0,5 cups shredded coconut
5 tbsp chia seeds
2 tbsp cinnamon
0,5 cup dried fruits
 
DSC_0147

And you will do like this;
Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.

Mix the bananas until really smooth, add in the cinnamon and mix until its all combined. Then mix in the oats, coconut and chia seeds, spread it evenly on a baking tray lined with baking paper.

Bake until its got a bit of color and gets crispy (15-20 min), make sure to flip it around occasionally so it doesn’t burn.
Let it cool completely and then add in the dried fruits, today I used goji berries and mulberries but its really up to whatever you fancy or have in the cupboards.

25 Comments Add yours

  1. thehomemakerslife says:

    Wow, that looks amazing!:)

    Like

  2. This sounds crazy tasty. I will give it a try. But my problem are black bananas. I love to eat them when other throw them out because they are completely black. So I have to hold myself back.

    Like

    1. Oh do it! I’m the same as you, when they are black they taste sooo much sweeter! But tis defiantly worth saving two for this 🙂

      Like

  3. What a great idea to use the banana, ideal for if you have some that are going black!

    Like

    1. Yeah it really is, and the more black they are, the sweeter the granola gets. Win-win 🙂

      Like

  4. sarahpratley says:

    This sounds amazing! I love that you don’t need that many ingredients as well. I’ve looked at making granola before but it just seemed like you need a thousand different seeds and things! I’ll have to give this one a try 🙂 x

    http://sarahpratley.com/

    Like

    1. Oh, thank you! Let me know what you thought about it, hopefully you love it just as much as I do 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. My body also determines what I crave. If I over do it with not so good stuff, I crave good stuff like this gorgeous granola. It is so pretty, and I can only imagine how delicious! Thank you for sharing at FF this week!

    Like

    1. I think the body tells you what it needs, sometimes I forget to listen but when I do listen, it feels good 🙂 Thank you for your kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Jhuls says:

    Eating something that would not make you feel guilty after is really good! This granola looks awesome! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, and it taste like its unhealthy, thats even better 😉

      Like

  7. Jenny says:

    This granola looks great! I have not used bananas in homemade granola before–I will give this a try, because it sounds good and my family loves homemade granola. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words, hope you and your family will like it 🙂

      Like

  8. Hi Petra, this sounds so lovely. Granola is such a favourite of mine, and I love to vary the ingredients according to what nuts and seeds I have in the fridge. Thank you so much for such a lovely blog. I always look forward to your posts 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh, thank you so much for your kind words! These kind comments make all the effort of having a blog so worth it!

      Like

  9. What a great idea you have here – so many so called healthy granolas are full of sugars and oils. Here’s one I can eat! Personally, I want to save those calories for when they count…dessert, not cereal! 🙂

    Thanks for linking up with us on Throwback Thursday – we appreciate it, and are always looking forward to next week’s posts, too!! 🙂 I’ll be pinning to our board, too, so be sure to follow us there.

    Mollie

    Like

    1. Oh thank you! I couldn’t agree more with you. Breakfast is so important for starting up the day in a great way and I don’t really want to eat empty calories that doesn’t make me feel satisfied for more than an hour or so 🙂 and thank you fore those sweet words and for letting me participate in TT! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I love granola and I love banana bread, this is heaven! Thank you for sharing with us at Throwback Thursday, this recipe will be featured at tonights party, we hope to see you there!

    Like

    1. Oh thank you 🙂 Count me in 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  11. amazing blog, such great photos and the recipes as well! pleasure to check it out! 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh thank you so much! You really made my day with this comment!

      Like

Leave a comment